Supervisory authorities


Presentation of the institute


Home > TEAMS > TEAM CHOQUET > RESEARCH AXES > Receptor Organization and Synaptic Function

Receptor Organization and Synaptic Function


Contact: Eric HOSY

Tel. (+33)5 05 33 51 47 30

Scientific Context

The Membrane Trafficking axis is integrated into the Dynamics of Synapse Organization and Function group .

This activity is headed by Eric Hosy (CR1, senior researcher) and currently involves, Benjamin Compans (PhD student) and Julia Goncalves (PhD student). The topic started when application of new high density super-resolution imaging technique reveals that AMPAR are not homogenously distributed inside the synapse but organized in nanodomains of around 80 nm which contained around 25 receptors each. Based on this discovery, the objective is to couple super-resolution imaging technique (U-PAINT, sptPALM, dSTORM) with electrophysiology to decipher how glutamate receptor organization and mobility impact on the synaptic transmission properties. The different topics mainly studied in the group concern:
  • The development or the improvement of new highdensity live imaging techniques
  • The understanding of the molecular compounds which organize AMPAR inside the synapse
  • The relation between AMPAR dynamic and its conformational state
  • The regulation of AMPAR dynamic organization during synaptic plasticity

  • Technical approaches

    We use all the various super-resolution imaging technique on living and fixed tissue (U-PAINT, sptPALM, dSTORM, STED) and we recently developed setup which couple live-imaging to electrophysiology and 2P uncaging. These techniques should allow to link synaptic currents to AMPAR organization and to understand how the glutamate availability inside the synaptic cleft tunes synaptic transmission.

    Selected publications

    Giannone G*, Hosy E*, Levet F, Constals A, Schulze K, Sobolevsky AI, Rosconi MP, Gouaux E, Tampé R, Choquet D, Cognet L. 2010 Biophysical Journal (F1000)
    Dynamic superresolution imaging of endogenous proteins on living cells at ultra-high density.

    Nair D*, Hosy E*, Petersen J.D, Constals A, Giannone G, Choquet D, Sibarita J-B. 2013 Journal of Neuroscience (F1000)
    Super-resolution imaging reveals that AMPA Receptors inside synapses are dynamically organized in nanodomains regulated by PSD95.

    Hosy E, Butler C, Sibarita JB. Curr Opin Chem Biol. 2014 Jun
    Organization and dynamics of AMPA receptors inside synapses-nano-organization of AMPA receptors and main synaptic scaffolding proteins revealed by super-resolution imaging.

    Pougnet JT, Toulme E, Martinez A, Choquet D, Hosy E, Boué-Grabot E. Neuron. 2014 Jul
    ATP P2X receptors downregulate AMPA receptor trafficking and postsynaptic efficacy in hippocampal neurons.

    Hosy E, Martinière A, Choquet D, Maurel C, Luu DT. Mol Plant. 2014 Oct
    Super-resolved and dynamic imaging of membrane proteins in plant cells reveal contrasting kinetic profiles and multiple confinement mechanisms.

    Constals A, Penn AC, Compans B, Toulmé E, Phillipat A, Marais S, Retailleau N, Hafner AS,Coussen F, Hosy E, Choquet D. Neuron. 2015 Feb
    CaMKII-dependent phosphorylation of GluK5 mediates plasticity of kainate receptors.

    Schneider R, Hosy E, Kohl J, Klueva J, Choquet D, Thomas U, Voigt A, Heine M. Neuron. 2015 May
    Mobility of calcium channels in the presynaptic membrane.

    Jang S, Oh D, Lee Y, Hosy E, Shin H, van Riesen C, Whitcomb D, Warburton JM, Jo J, Kim D, Kim SG, Um SM, Kwon SK, Kim MH, Roh JD, Woo J, Jun H, Lee D, Mah W, Kim H, Kaang BK, Cho K, Rhee JS, Choquet D, Kim E. Nat Neurosci. 2016 Jan
    Synaptic adhesion molecule IgSF11 regulates synaptic transmission and plasticity.

    Levet F, Hosy E, Kechkar A, Butler C, Beghin A, Choquet D, Sibarita JB. Nat Methods. 2015 Nov
    SR-Tesseler: a method to segment and quantify localization-based super-resolution microscopy data.

    Compans B., Choquet D., Hosy E. 2016 neurophotonics
    role of AMPA receptor nano-organization and dynamic in the properties of synaptic transmission.

    Former Members

    Audrey Constal (PhD student) - Kalina Haas (PhD student) - Estelle Toulmé (post-doctoral fellow)